How to Delete an Email Account from Microsoft Outlook

If you don’t want to use a particular email account with Microsoft Outlook, or if you want to completely close your Outlook account, it’s easy to do so. We’ll show you how in this guide.

When you delete an email account, Outlook stops syncing new emails from that account. It also deletes cached content from your email account, such as messages and attachments. However, note that your original emails with your courier are retained.

If you want to permanently delete your Outlook account, you can do so by closing your Microsoft account, as we explain in this guide.

Delete email account from Outlook application

To get rid of an email account and stop seeing its emails, start by launching the Outlook application on your computer.

When Outlook opens, in the upper left corner, click “File”.

Select “File” in the upper left corner.

In the right pane, choose Account Settings > Account Settings.

An “Account Settings” window opens. Click on the “Email” tab and select the email account to be deleted. Then, in the menu bar above the selected email account, click “Delete”.

If you delete the only email account in Outlook, the application will ask you to create a new data file.

Select “OK” in the prompt.

To do this, in the “Account Settings” window, go to the “Data Files” tab. Next, click “Add” and then “OK” to create a new Outlook data file.

Back in the “Email” tab, choose the email account to delete and select “Delete”.

You will see a warning message that offline cached content in your email account will be deleted. This only affects the local copy of your account data on your computer; the original data associated with your account is retained.

Continue by clicking “Yes”.

Choose “Yes” in the prompt.

And everything is ready. Outlook has deleted the selected email account and you will no longer see its emails in the app. Enjoy!

Permanently close an Outlook account (Microsoft)

If you want to permanently delete your Outlook account, you need to close your Microsoft account. This will delete all data associated with your account, including emails, purchases, and other items.

To do this, go to our dedicated guide to deleting a Microsoft account. Follow the steps there to terminate your account. Once you do, your account will be closed and you will no longer be able to access it.

This is how you can declutter your Outlook application and say goodbye to your Outlook account forever!

Want to add a new email account to Outlook? If so, it is easy to configure this email client with any of your email accounts.

Leave a Comment